Heroes 2055

NAF Government

The North American Federation (NAF), while still a democracy in practice, has become more of an aristocracy. When the NAF took control of the U.S. and Canadian governments, they took over control of all federal, state, and local agencies. Every law had to be rewritten and the system of government overhauled. While this took over two decades, it resulted in a loss of personal freedoms unprecedented in the history of the United States or Canada. Common citizens lost their right to vote unless they were privileged enough to own at least 5% of the NAF's stock. Privacy became something that is virtually unknown.

The NAF (essentially one megacorporation, called a "zaibatsu") is the product of a strategic alliance between seven U.S. and Canadian corporations. It is the CEOs of these seven corporations that sit on the Executive Council (described below).

In addition to overhauling the system of law and government, the NAF also moved the capitol to the center of commerce for the entire nation: New York City. This was done as a statement to NAF citizens, and the world, that the NAF had shifted the focus of the country to something beneficial to all, particularly global trade. Federal Agencies, while some are based in New York, are placed strategically throughout the country, depending on how they would best serve (see Federal Agencies for more information).

Executive Council

The Executive Council oversees the governing of the NAF. It is composed of the individuals that sit as the CEO of each of the seven corporations that make up the NAF. It is these seven individuals who decide whether the NAF will go to war, how to allocate funds and resources, what laws to propose, and who to appoint to each position in government at the federal level.

Laws are voted on by those who own a minimum of 5% ownership of stock in the NAF. Those that are eligible to vote are determined by the quarterly report. Any successful vote by the stockholders can be vetoed by the Executive Council with a majority vote.

Below the Executive Council is the government of each state. The NAF decided that it would be beneficial to keep the state governments intact and allow them to continue. In order to insure that none of the state governments would rebel or otherwise attempt to contradict the NAF, each member of the Executive Council was assigned a region to watch over, essentially as a buffer between the state governments and the Executive Council. Each NAF member corporation has the power to place any state government under federal review should evidence appear that government is somehow undermining the authority of the NAF (either through passing laws that contradict federal laws or by supporting separatist movements). In the history of the NAF, this has only happened three times: twice with Texas and once with California.

Federal Agencies

Most pre-corporation federal agencies still exist in one form, but under a different heading. This includes the FBI, NSA, and CIA, among others. The National Crimes Investigation Agency (NCIA) has replaced the FBI. The NCIA investigates crimes that fall under national/federal jurisdiction. This includes kidnappings, organized crime (particularly the mafia), and terrorist acts. The Federal Security Agency (FSA) has replaced the NSA. It carries on much the same function as the NSA does today, protecting national security. However, it has also taken on the tasks of the CIA. This places all the information gathering, both foreign and domestic, in one agency and reduces duplication of efforts, not to mention costs.

In addition many of them have been moved to other areas of the country. For instance, the NCIA was moved with the nation's capitol to New York City, while the Fugitive Retrieval Organization (the replacement for the U.S. Marshals) was moved to a central location in Chicago. Below is a list of federal agencies and the location of their main office:

  • National Crimes Investigation Agency (NCIA): New York City, NY
  • Federal Security Agency (FSA): Ft. Meade, MD
  • Fugitive Retrieval Organization (FRO): Chicago, IL
  • National Defense Organization (NDO): New York City, NY

National Crimes Investigation Agency (NCIA)

The NCIA took over many duties of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), particularly the investigation of crimes involving federal property, military, terrorist organizations, or factions within the NAF government. It is divided into several divisions, each of which handles a different aspect of criminal investigation.

Each division is assigned a one- or two-letter code as an identifier. Additionally, each unit within the division is assigned a simple call sign (Greek letter). Each unit within a division handles a different aspect of the crime or region of NAF territory. The only exceptions are the unit designations Epsilon and Gamma. Epsilon is reserved for the Tactical Response Team (TRT) for that division. The TRT is specifically trained in tactics and strategies to counter the type of crime investigated by their division. Gamma is a special unit, called the Metahuman Unit that employs superhumans (primarily experiments, special training, bionics, and Hardwares). Gamma units aid all other units, especially TRTs. Each unit in a division can be uniquely identified by combining the division and unit identifiers (i.e. the Bomb Squad unit of Counter-Terrorism division can be referred to as T-Delta and the Investigations unit of the Kidnappings division is referred to as K-Alpha).

The NCIA is currently under the direction of Alexander Rock. All division supervisors report directly to him during monthly briefings. A single supervisor, responsible for all unit heads, oversees each division. Each unit leader is responsible for delegating cases to unit members, generally divided into three- to ten-man teams (when a team is created, unit leaders attempt to group individuals with diverse experience).

Each division trains its operatives differently in order to provide agents with methods best suited to the division's area of investigation, however there remain many constants and each division attempts to recruit individuals who already possess knowledge, education, and skills that will aid them in the field.

All operatives must have a Trade School or partial College (minimum one year) education in order to be accepted. Once an application has been accepted, new recruits are subjected to psychological evaluations to ensure their mental stability (agents are also required to pass a psychological evaluation every six months or upon request by any supervising manager, regardless of rank; i.e. a lower ranking manager supervising another unit can request a psychological evaluation for any agent they feel is acting irrationally or is under undue stress), additional education on general investigative methods, and firearms training.

Metahuman recruits receive the previously mentioned treatment, but receives additional training in the use of his/her abilities to better control them and prevent accidental deaths (especially of civilian bystanders and property).

All agents of the NCIA receive the following:

  • Law (general) (+5%)
  • Research (+5%)
  • Surveillance Systems (+5%)
  • W.P. Semi-automatic Pistol

In addition, agents are considered security and law enforcement professionals and are paid as such. Use the following table to determine a character's salary (all NCIA agents begin with 6 months salary as starting cash).

 Character Pay by Level
 Level 1-3Level 4-10Level 11+
Normal Agents$3,750 per month$5,000 per month$7,500 per month
Metahuman Agents$5,000 per month$7,000 per month$9,250 per month